The Africa Food Prize 2020 is a recognised award for honouring the extraordinary individual or institution whose additions to agriculture in Africa have shaped or are shaping a new cycle of viable food security and economic opportunity for all Africans.

The award prize will be awarded to honour Africans who are in control of the agriculture agenda in Africa and shifting the reality of farming in Africa from a struggle to survive to a business that succeeds.


The Africa Food Prize 2020 can be given to any individual or identifiable group of individuals, as well as to well-established companies, associations, organisations or government bodies with a legal and recognised judicial and organisational structure contributing to the overall purposes of the Prize.

The award can be given to any capable candidate, regardless of nationality, profession or vocation, whose work, and inputs deriving from the work, has had an evident impact on the African situation, nationally, regionally or for the continent.
The Prize can be awarded reference to a specific input or accomplishment, or a streak of efforts and results in the recent past, in the last few years preferably.

Current or recent members of the Africa Food Prize Committee, or an institution/ organisation led by such a member, are unqualified for the Prize. The Prize cannot be conferred to a person already deceased but will be awarded in the event a Prize winner dies before receiving the Prize.

The prize can be awarded one or two winners, but a maximum of two. If shared, each winner will receive an equal share prize ($100 000 divided in two), a diploma and a trophy.

Read also: Got a climate-related solution? Apply for 14C Pitch Hub Competition 2020, Barcelona

Selection Criteria

The Africa Food Prize lauds distinguished contributions of individuals in every aspect of agriculture and food production that is related to fighting hunger and reducing poverty in Africa.

Decisions will be dependent on the Prize Committee’s research and considerations of the nominees´ work and an assessment of their achievements.

  • Contribution to dwindling poverty and hunger and/or developing food and nutrition security in measurable terms
  • Contribution to providing a fundamental source of income and/ or employment in measurable terms
  • Potential for transformative change through scalability, replication, and sustainability
  • Increased consciousness and cooperation among African audiences and organisations
  • Proven leadership capability of an individual or organisation, specifically the ability to persevere despite serious threats or liabilities


June 1, 2020: Application portal closes
September 2020: Award Ceremony

How to apply

Start your nominations via their website before it closes on Monday, June 1, 2020

Got a story worth telling? Shoot us an email with SUBJECT — “Story Worth Telling” — to [email protected]

+ Posts

Beyond a career, creating amazing content with some social media spin is my favourite pastime.